Take Time Tuesday {#3}

take-time-tuesday

Today I’m thankful for having the ability to run. As simple as that may sound, it’s really true. With this new Spring weather approaching, I’m eager to get outside more, embrace the beauty of nature, and get my RUN ON!

eatprayrun(source)

Naturally, I’m not really a runner. Well what I mean is…I don’t run a billion races, I’ve never completed a “training plan” for an upcoming race, nor have I ran more than 5 miles all at once. Yes, at times my lack of “running proof & experience” gets to me, but in the end I’m just grateful that-

1. I ran, whether it be 1 mile or 5 miles, I’m just thankful I DID IT.

2. When I run, again whether it be 1 mile or 5 miles, my body, mind, and soul are HAPPY.

When I actually think about it, regardless of the fact that I’ve only actually ran two 5K’s in my entire life, I’m most grateful that I have the ability to run, whenever I please. I have no illness, sickness or disability that prevents me from embarking on this mind, body and soul cleanse.

What makes me even more happy about running is the fact that even though I know I’m not a pro, I experience the same feelings and emotions about running as others more seasoned runners do. That anticipation, dislike and anxiety BEFORE a run, ALL runners feel from time to time, along with the glorious cleansing, joyful post-run HIGH that makes you feel like you can achieve anything-I get that & I love it.

running2(source)

This is why at the end of the day, whether or not I’ve had I a fabulous, easy run (which I had yesterday) or a mediocre, so-so run (like I had today), I’m THANKFUL that I completed it, making me a runner, regardless of anything else.

Here are some inspiring posts from some lovely friends about running!

How to push through a long run

Each Run

So tell me…what do you love most about running??

❤ Alicia

7 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Running

7 responses to “Take Time Tuesday {#3}

  1. I love this post! So true- every step you take, no matter how far or fast makes you a runner!

  2. You know, I go through phases with running. Sometimes i run a lot and sometimes not at all. Right now, I’m in a “not at all” phase, but even still… I have those days where it hits me how thankful I am to have the ability. I know what you mean. 🙂

  3. I love how much stronger running makes me feel, mentally and physically 🙂

  4. Pingback: Take Time Tuesday {#4} | blessedandblissful

Leave a Reply

