What we’re READING {#1}…

books

(the current view of our nightstand)

Sooo remember how I said one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to read more, well I also wanted to make myself accountable for reading a variety of books to my little  Cutie Pa-tootie too!  My goal is to read 1-2 new books to A every single week, which would then give him exposure to 52+ NEW works of literature a year! 😀

This week we’ve been reading…

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (a total classic in my opinion!)

I chose this book initally because we were reading If You Take a Mouse to the Movies all of December and A loved it, so I figured I’d give the original a whirl too. A also LOVES it; he laughs when I say the words “mouse” and “cookie,” {probably because I exaggerate the word cookie into “coooookie” lol but hey, whatever it takes!}

I love it because the illustrations are simply adorable and the format of the text is easy to read and which is especially great for beginning readers. (I certainly know my 10 month old is not a beginning reader, however, I do feel it’s great to read ALL sorts of books to him regardless of his age and age level of the text. So don’t be too hesitant to chose a book just because you feel it might be too complicated for your little one, remember continous exposure to good, qualitative literature teaches children vocabulary, social and linguist skills that are so beneficial for them! So READ READ READ!

more books

The second book we’ve been reading is Llama Llama Misses Mama, which comes from the Llama Llama series by Anna Dewdney.

Again, I must backtrack with this text, I first heard of this series when I stumbled across the book Llama Llama Red Pajama, and I instantly fell in love with it. In fact, I  was observing a group of preschoolers for a class and saw how much joy and attentiveness they had when read this text that I HAD to find it and read it to my little munchkin. (GET it, READ it and you’ll seriously LOVE it too! 😉

I have to say both A and I LOVE when Daddy reads this book, the characterization in his voice is so realistic and makes the book ever more engaging and enjoyable. I also love the message it teaches little ones about loving mama & school too.

This is what We’ve been reading…can’t wait to hear what YOU ALL have been reading!!

❤ Alicia

P.s. If you want some good reviews on books you could always check out Amazon, but I also recommend Goodreads.com, it’s a social networking site about books where there are always TONS of great, helpful (sometimes VERY opinionated) reviews on all ALL works of literature.

Remember reading to your bump/baby/toddler/child/teen is SO SO SO beneficial for a variety of reasons and is seriously one the BEST things you can do for them!! So….KEEP CALM & READ ON!!

books are

(source)

Awesome articles on reading:

Scholastic: Why Babies Need Books

10 Reasons Why You Should Read to Your Kids

10 Comments

Filed under Read, What We Are Reading

10 responses to “What we’re READING {#1}…

  1. LOVE “If you give a mouse a cookie” such a classic and great read! I love that you are reading to him already, I did the same with Anthony when he was very little!

    Happy Wednesday! ❤

  2. Great books! I’ve read a few of the Llama series to the kids I nanny. And I love Goodreads! It helps me pick out books all the time, haha! 🙂

  3. Both of those books are SO GREAT! As an elementary teacher, I LOVE them both 🙂

  4. Oh I love “If you Give a Mouse a Cookie”, such a great book. Sophia loves this book too.

    I love the Llama series as well, but we don’t have this one I am going to go to amazon and buy it today. Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂

    I love reading new books too. Not just for the girls benefit, but also because I get so tired of reading the same books. 🙂

    • The Llama series is just too cute! 🙂 YES! I hear ya, its nice to read new books for both their sake and ours!
      I’ve checked out several from the library lately, which makes it so much easier to find which ones he LOVES and doesn’t.

  5. Pingback: What we’re Reading {#2} | blessedandblissful

  6. Pingback: What We’re Reading {& Re-Reading!} | blessedandblissful

Leave a Reply

