New Year’s Resolutions!!

It’s hard to believe we’ll be say goodbye to 2012 and HELLO 2013!!!

2013

(source)

I must say, 2012 has been one of the greatest years of my life, if not THE  ABSOLUTE BEST! ❤

movie with mommy

With each new year I promise myself to live a healthier, more active lifestyle, especially after indulging all on the Thanksgiving-Christmas goodies! ❤ This year, while I do plan on focusing on maintaining a healthier lifestyle (physically), I also want to acknowledge and improve my mental and emotional health. I want to STRESS LESS and be more mentally fit. So my New Year’s resolutions are:

1. Eat Clean, less processed junk with some necessary indulgences {like fro-yo} from time to time.

eatclean

(source)

2. Create a workout plan and STICK TO IT! Including getting back into the gym to lift weights again! 😀

weights

(source)

3.Be smart with our finances & SAVE SAVE SAVE!

4. READ MORE, watch TV less.

5. READ to Aiden. I want to start a weekly reading link up. I want to focus on making time for reading to our babies, no matter what age they are, ALL children benefit from read alouds, even 18 year-olds! 😉 For this I want to choose one or two NEW books a week and read them to A throughout the week. (One week you may be able to read the book 4 times and the next only 2 but that’s ok, ANY rereading of the text is GREAT!!) So over the course of a year, your child will be exposed to atleast 52 NEW PIECES OF LITERATURE!!! 😀 I hope to read your comments on the new books that you are reading with the little ones you love. When I was preggers, the hubby would always read Dr. Seuss’ Fox in Socks to my belly and baby A would always kick around and I swear to this day, he LOVES that book and will literally sit still when it is read to him! ❤ {P.s. OBVIOUSLY, you can tell I’m an education major and LOVE all things related to education…hope you don’t mind my passion for education pouring out of me here on the bloggy)

keep calm and read

(source)

6. Create better meal plans and experiment with NEW recipes!

7. Pray MORE. 

pray(source)

8. Love more! ❤ Send sweet notes to those I love; smile more; see the positive in all things instead of dwelling on the negative. Basically just do anything that I can to LOVE OTHERS MORE!

MORE

(source)

In January I’ll be taking two new grad classes and though it’ll be tough to follow all of these resolutions, I feel that by sticking to them, I will overall be a better, healthier, happier ME!! 

Do you every have New Year’s Resolutions??! If so what are some of yours?

❤ Alicia

Awesome links for reading:

Benefits of Reading

Sciene Daily article

7 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Life

7 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions!!

  1. Hi! Just found your blog via your comment on Live Half Full! 🙂

    Your son is so adorable! I love the reading idea! I don’t have kids but my bestie in NYC does (he’s 20 mos), and I love sending him books. He really likes this one called Pouch, and I sent him What to do with the Boo Hoo Baby. I am excited to see you post the books so I have ideas for books for her.

    Great list of resolutions too! I don’t have any set in stone. But I do need to work on a few things. LOL 😉

    • Hi Kim! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I’m super passionate about reading and love adding new books to A’s collection. Hope you find some cool ones to share with your best friends little guy! I’ve never heard of What Shall We Do with Boo Hoo Baby,but it looks really cute, I’ll keep an eye out for it next time we’re at the library!!

  2. Great goals! Eating clean is a big one for me! I really need to focus on what goes in!

    • Thanks! I think it’s easy for alll of us to get swept away in the holiday sweets and treats and thankfully the New Year allows us to get away from those amazinly delicious goodies and think better about our food choices! 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2012 Goal Review | blessedandblissful

  4. Pingback: What we’re READING {#1}… | blessedandblissful

  5. Pingback: What We’re Reading {& Re-Reading!} | blessedandblissful

Leave a Reply

