Music!!

Sooo now that school is DONE for the semester! *happy dance*  I’ve finally started to get more into a workout routine which I am totally loving.

One thing that I’ve noticed ALWAYS boost my spirits is *MUSIC*!! While I might be a shy, conservative person…I LOVE me some LOUD, CRAZY, BOOTY-SHAKING, JUMP UP & DOWN MUSIC!! I feel that a workout can totally be made or broken by the extent of its music. I’ve taken some awesome yoga/pilates classes where the music was so invogorating that though I may have at first doubted the intensity of the workout routine itself, it was the music transformed it and made it an exhilaratingly effective workout.

music

(source)

Upon getting my run on the other day, {which might I add, is a work in progress…I’m far from running 5 miles like I used to, but I’m getting there…} I couldn’t help but once again be totally inspired to really challenge myself. There are often times when I physically feel I can’t go farther or push harder, but with the help of a good tune, I end up proving myself wrong and complete that obstacle that my mind felt I wasn’t capable of doing. Though we don’t always believe it, our minds are much more powerful than we think. 🙂

Not only does jamming out to good songs help me get my *sweat on,* I ALWAYS have something playing throughout the day when I’m cleaning and picking up around the house. & YES!! I often randomly pick up my little man and dance around the house with him, which he loves and cries when I go to put him down afterwards. lol

While I’m a passionate country music lover, I must say when it comes to working out and getting motivated, my country tunes don’t always give me that push that I need… so I of course have to rely on my Pop & Latin favorites like J.Lo and Christina….

My NEWEST workout favorite and I think I’d have to say a song that I would say is somewhat of a personal theme of mine would be:

I just feel that whenever I hear this song it completely reminds to forget about what others think or say; life is way to short to dwell on little things that are simply insignificant. Plus, I’m just a huge J.Lo fan! 🙂

My ALL TIME FAVORITE workout song HAS to be:

This has ALWAYS been the most influential workout song for me personally. I think its a total  “thanks” to all who ever criticized my physical abilities back in high school when I wasn’t living an active and healthy lifestyle. This is the song I listened to during my daily workouts when I first began going to the gym and started to live a healthier lifestyle. I feel that without that criticism, I wouldn’t have transformed and become a  real “fighter” for my health.

Though I don’t necessarily listen to them when I’m working out, I turn up the volume to full blast {or as loud as I can depending on what Mr. A is up to ;-)} to Carried Underwood’s Blown Away and Miranda Lambert’s Fastest Girl in Town. What can I say, I’m just a country girl at heart!! ❤ 🙂

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent” -Victor Hugo

What are your favorite workout songs or new song(s) in general??! 

❤ Alicia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation

3 responses to “Music!!

  1. I too believe in the power of music for a good workout!! I cannot run unless I have something upbeat and motivating to listen to! 🙂

  2. Ginger

    You know me……as long as I have some Pitbull while I’m working out….I’m a happy camper!!! 🙂
    Mom

Leave a Reply

