Milk Cookies

Cookies cookies cookies YAY!!

So I’m always looking for yummy, healthy cookie options and was recently disapointed with TLC Kashi cookies that I bought the other day. I LOVE Kashi products, but the cookies were just blahhh in my opinion. {Sorry Kashi!} Along with wanting a yummy treat, I’m always seeking healthified versions of baked goods and this one was in deed a hit. I had first tried making a version of these cookies a couple of months ago as a way to help increase/boost my milk supply. {it’s all about the leche these days! 😉 } However, that other recipe that I tried was also disappointing :-/Then I came across this recipe and decided to give these cookies another go around and my oh my did they NOT disappoint at all, in fact they are FA BULOUSLY DELICIOUS!

Major Milk Makin’ Cookies
Recipe by Kathleen Major

1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1 3/4 c. oats
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
3/4 c. almond butter or peanut butter {I used Almond butter & I think that’s what made them super yummy}
1/2 c. butter, softened
1 c. flax
3 T brewer’s yeast
1/3 c. water
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
2 tsp vanilla
2 large eggs
2 c. (12oz) chocolate chips
1 c. chopped nuts of your choice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt in a bowl.
In a large bowl, beat almond butter, butter, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, brewer’s yeast, flax and water until creamy.
Mix in eggs.
Gradually beat in flour mixture.
Mix in nuts and chocolate chips.
Add oats slowly, mixing along the way.

Place balls of dough onto greased baking sheets or baking stones.

Press down each ball lightly with a fork.
Bake 12 minutes.

20120712-172531.jpg

20120712-172610.jpg

20120712-172620.jpg

20120712-172626.jpg

{Eagerly awaiting the cookies!}

20120712-172638.jpg

{ta-da!! yummmmmmy!}

Now you might say, “OMG! Milk making cookies? No thank you..” But seriously these are REALLY GOOD and no they aren’t going to make you lactate at random..haha {though that would be funny}, instead these are super healthy cookies filled with tons of fiber and healthy fats. So trust me…TRY THEM! 🙂 “Try them, try them, and you may! Try them and you may, I say.” 😉 ― Dr. Seuss, Green Eggs and Ham

<3-Alicia & Aiden

P.s. My little sis liked them and she’s pretty picky….so that should tell you how good they are! 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Milk Cookies

  1. Ginger

    You totally lied to me…..I made them and I started to lactate! hahahaha…..not really! You know I don’t bake unless it comes out of a box! I love you and miss you sweetheart! xoxoxo Mom

  2. Pingback: Baking frenzy | blessedandblissful

Leave a Reply

