Thanks to the king of country..

Baby Aiden is now almost 4 weeks old! I cannot believe how fast the time flys and how quickly my little guy is growing! So far the first few weeks have gone really well, especially thanks to having my aunt here for 2 weeks to help us adjust to life as parents.

Aiden’s first week was great; he’s a good sleeper and would only wake up during the night to feed which was pretty easy but the lack of sleep for me was pretty exhausting. I felt like a zombie for the first 4 days of his life and thought I would never get enough sleep to be sane again. lol I suppose it didn’t help much that we slept with the lamp on for the whole first week since we were so paranoid at every little sound he made during the night. πŸ˜› The lamp habit went away quickly because we realized that we needed sleep just as much as he did and in order to be good functioning parents sleep was definitely key. πŸ˜‰

Aiden’s second week was also good, especially since we had an extra helping hand with my aunt being here. Her experience helped us immensely. We literally were in awe sometimes in how she knew exactly what he needed or wanted when he cried. *amazing* πŸ™‚ We definitely learned so much during her time here and are very grateful that she was able to help us out so much. This week Mr. Aiden started to get too smart…or too lazy…one of the two. Not sure if I mentioned it before but right after he was born, I was able to breastfeed him and he was seriously a pro at it. He latched on well and made the whole process so easy. (I felt I could so do this thing without a problem! YAY!) However, come week 2, my little guy decides that since he’s figured out where most of the milk comes from, he decides he’ll just latch on partially and still reap the benefits of a full mouthfull of milk…. :-/ Talk about two painful days of agony after each feeding. His laziness/lack of effort made it intensely painful and an intervention was needed!! Thankfully, my aunt was able to give me tips and pointers on getting him to latch on and stay latched on properly. πŸ˜€ Now both Aiden and mommy are happy once again!

In Aiden’s third week, he’s not only changed so much looks wise, but his personality has started to show more and it’s the cutest thing ever. He’s been lifting his head up more and rotating it to look a certain direction and will follow my voice when I talk to him. *smile* He also now swings in his swing contently, before he hated just sitting in it, we couldn’t even turn the knob on the lowest setting to swing him. He also smiles when I give him kisses on his cheek-it’s soooo sweet!  ❀

This week we also had our first rough night of sleep..after 3 weeks it was inevitable, but we managed through it thanks to a certain someone. πŸ˜‰

Up until this rough night, Aiden’s sleep pattern was pretty regular, he would feed on one side, diaper change, feed on the other side, fall back asleep. We would do this at every feeding, which occured every 2-3 and sometimes 3-4 hours throughout the night. Each time he’d fall right back to sleep and all was great. He especially loves the lullaby music that the pack-N-play has and that always seals the deal when he’s half awake and half asleep. (Love love love you pack-N-play music!!)

Well this particular night we had a Mr. Cranky Pants on our hands….after going to bed at his usual 8:30 bedtime, little Mr. kept waking up every 2 hours, sometimes even every 1.5 hours….All I kept thinking was: good bye little bit of sleep…hello almost all-nighter? Β :-/

Roughly at 11:45 PM, after a quick feeding, diaper change, another feeding…someone was WIDE AWAKE instead of happily asleep. He had never done this before, so I figured just a quick rocking to sleep would do the trick and though he was clearly tired…he stayed completely AWAKE.

“*Yawn*..This sleep thing is overrated, let’s party Mom!”

Then after more rocking and swaying, I decided to put on some lullaby music from my phone, it had to do the trick since he loves it in his pack-N-play..but after another 20 minutes this is what I saw:

“Lullaby music? Really?Β 

Still AWAKE, just making cute faces. πŸ˜› However, at midnight the cute faces, as adorable as they were, couldn’t soothe my deep longing for a few hours of much needed sleep and the lullaby music wasn’t helping because I was the one starting to doze off instead. To keep me fully awake, I decided to change the station to the King of Country music. At least if he wasn’t sleeping, we’d be listening to some good music right?!

Not long afterwards this happened…

“Ohhh,Β I like this

And sure enough the smiles continued but they became more and more sleepy at the same time..

“That’s a good song too…now if only I can stay awake til the end of it”

and finally, with an additional help from another great country artist..

My sweet honey bee fell asleep!! πŸ˜€ Notice the time it took?…after a grueling 40 mins of different tricks to getting him to fall asleep, all it took was 10 minutes of good country music.

So much for sleep tactics from a highlgy research based book, sometimes you just gotta roll with it and it’s sure to leave this little mama *with a smile*! πŸ˜‰

xoxo, Alicia

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Thanks to the king of country..

  1. Hehe this is the cutest post ever! He is so adorable! And how awesome of your aunt to help you out! That’s so nice of her to show you some of the ropes and help you out! Can’t wait to see more of cutie pie Aiden!

  2. SUSIE Q

    That”s my boy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing Little Momma!!!!!!!

  3. Haha! Oh the joys of no sleeping! I remember those days of no sleeping!

    He is so adorable!!!! ❀

  4. He is going to be a country boy! How cute!! I looove country music too so I will have to try that trick if the sound machine I just got doesn’t seem to do the trick πŸ™‚
    He is such a cutie pie! He totally looks like his mama!! xox

    • Yep, a country boy in deed! I love country music too!! πŸ˜€ Right, ya gotta love Pandora radio! Thank you, I get that a lot! πŸ™‚ Hope you are doing well girlie!

  5. Brandi

    Ohhh precious little Aiden! He is adorable and I enjoy reading your stories Alicia! I love his cute little pictures especially the one where he is yawning and then the one where he smiled, like saying…”Oh yeah baby, this is my kind of music”. Lol…too cute! Take care Alicia and wish you were in Texas so we could all enjoy your little man. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

