New Year’s Inspiration

Hey all! Happy 2012!!! Hope you all had a fab NYE! We hung out with friends and had a blasty! Instead of doing the whole new year’s resolution thing, I decided to make goals for myself for 2012 with the help of an Inspiration board. I decided to make TWO, one for my general overall health and the other for specifically for physical health and workout motivation. I’m a VISUAL learner and seeing images helps me make greater connections to their meaning, so the inspiration board is definitely fitting for me.

Here is my first one:

*Love Family*-I want to really focus this year on expressing to my loved ones how much they mean to me and how wonderful they are to have in my life. We tend to forget to express ourselves with the craziness of everyday life, therefore I feel it’s so vital to tell those you love just how much of a blessing they are to you!

*Relax*-I guess this is a funny one considering hubby and I will be embarking on one of the greatest transitions in our lives (God-willing). However, I do tend to over-react, over-analyze things to the extreme and WORRY A LOT, though I know this is not likely to change, I do have to remind myself to just RELAX sometimes, BREATHE and take it easy instead of getting too upset and worked up about it.

*Life-long friends*-Since we are so far from home, friends are seriously like family, therefore I want to make sure I’m being the best type of friend I can be so that I can create long lasting friendships.

*Shop smarter*-New baby=New expenses and therefore BETTER BUDGETING! We have developed a budget plan and decided we need to stick to it and manage our money more precisely. (Geez, growing up stinks sometimes…:-P haha)

*Enjoy/Embrace change*-I know every aspect our lives will CHANGE and sometimes I don’t handle change all that well (who does honestly?) so instead of getting upset or frustrated by all the new changes that will likely occur this year, I want to learn to EMBRACE, ENJOY and CHERISH every ounce of all of these changes. I’ve got tons of worries/what-if’s going through my head, “Will I be a good mom?” “Will I know what to do when this happens?” “Will breastfeeding be as horrific as people make it out to be??” “Will my marriage stay strong throughout all of these changes?” Instead of overly worrying about them, I’m going to try to RELAX more and EMBRACE it and most importantly *HAVE FAITH* throughout it all.

*Live Fit*-Along with all the changes, I do hope to maintain my healthy and fit lifestyle. I know my workouts will be different, scheduled around baby and if even..lol. Working out has always been a big stress reliever for me, it allows me to clear my head and relax when things get to be too much. It’s my “me time” & although that lovely “me time” will likely be spared A LOT with parenthood, I would like to motivate myself to try to squeeze in fitness whenever possible. Creativity may become a major factor in order for this to happen, but I’m READY and WILLING to do all that is possible to maintain a FIT lifestyle.

*Smile more*-No matter what challenges and hardships we are faced with, a lot of us (me especially) tend to dwell on all the NEGATIVE and forget about all the wonderful postive aspects of our lives. Therefore, I’m really going to try to be more optimistic and SMILE more. When you smile, it makes others smile! Sooo show those pearly whites my friends! 😉

*Be a good mom*-If there were a book on it, I’d READ IT, but sadly there is not. (Or there is and I don’t know about it, so please fill me in ASAP! lol ) But I do want to inspire myself to be the best mom that I can be. I know perfection is impossible and I also know that I’m going to make mistakes, several mistakes here and there, but regardless I want to be a mommy with 110% of my ability. As an athlete in school I always strived to work hard and give 110% into my sport so that I could be better and improve with each practice. I think the same lies with all things in life, the more effort you put in the more output you will receive. Though I know with motherhood, some things will work and others will not and nothing is really to be expected besides the fact that you should probably just expect UNexpected..lol But I do want to be as loving as possible to my little guy and give my ALL 110%. I think that constitutes being a good mom…don’t you?

Here is my fitness inspiration board:

*Eat more Veggies*-No real explanation needed just that I want to incorporate more GREENS into my diet so that I am able to better nourish myself and baby.

*Focus on good food*-Especially after all the sweets from the holidays our bodies need good food to fuel us throughout our busy days, therefore I want to incorporate CLEAN eating and snacking to help detox those holiday sweets and again better nourish my body.

*Work it out*-Though pregnancy has drastically changed my workout routine, I’ve make adjustments as needed here and there but I do want to continue to “work it out” for both me and baby, especially afterwards to help me attain my pre-baby body.

*Run a 5k*-I’ve ran them before and LOVE them, but have never really stayed involved in races. I hope that starting off small will help ease myself back into working out and also allow me to work my way up, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to eventually run a marathon! 😀

*Drink more water*-I drink a good amount now, but with the less room in my belly it’s hard to guzzle down a lot of water, but I’m trying to remind myself that HYDRATION is a key part of being fit and living a healthy lifestyle, which is why I added H2O to my board.

I zoomed in on some of my favorite parts of the board:

I ❤ Jennie Finch and think she’s not only BEAUTIFUL, but also very inspirational. This quote says it all by reminding us that seeking PERFECTION isn’t important. Perfection is impossible, but happiness is totally attainable and worth it!!

I also love Sofia Vergara and that she embraces her body and it’s amazing curves. YAY for the girls with REAL BODIES full of curves!!

Well that’s all my friends, hope you like my Inspiration board because I sure do! 😀 HAPPY NEW YEAR and HAPPY NEW *YOU* whatever goals, resolutions you may have! In 2012, NOTHING is impossible!! ❤

<3~Alicia

10 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Food, Inspiration, Life

10 responses to “New Year’s Inspiration

  1. I love making inspiration boards! Both of yours are great. I wish you the best of luck with your new resolutions! xoxo

  2. How fun is that! I think its about time I get on the inspiration board train! I bet I would love making one!

  3. Pingback: Friday Friends | livehalffull

  4. I made one of these last year and hung it in my office! It helped me from grabbing an unhealthy snack A LOT!

    • Isn’t it just sooo motivating? Every time I reach for a snack, I think of the apple + almonds image on the board and I choose that instead of something sweet/unhealthy. 🙂

  5. I love all your inspiration boards and all those fab quotes you put on them! I hear you on shopping smarter. I never realized how expensive babies were! Budgets are never fun but they sure are beneficial! 🙂

    • Isn’t it? It’s definitely put lots of things in perspective for us, but it’s sooo totally worth it! 😀 ❤ We're almost there hun! Can you believe it!?

  6. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    These are such cute boards, and I’m lovin the Jennie Finch quote. It’s so nice to hear someone in the spotlight say something so down-to-earth

  7. Pingback: 2012 Goal Review | blessedandblissful

Leave a Reply

