Lovely Holidays

Hey there! Hope you are all having a great Friday!! Can you believe 2012 is just around the corner? My how time has flown by!! πŸ˜€ I’ve totally continued to relax during these lovely holidays. We usually visit the family in Texas and are always Β super busy spending time between each of our families. This is the first year where we’ve stayed home and relaxed throughout the holiday festivities. While we greatly LOVE our families, we are slowly adjusting to the new changes that our little family has began to pursue.

One thing that we’ve greatly enjoyed lately is spending time with *GREAT FRIENDS* πŸ™‚ Being a military family is difficult and one of the hardest parts is getting to know other families. We’ve fortunately been blessed to have met a fabulous couple who very familiar with this lifestyle and are also pregnant with their first little one as well! πŸ˜€ This whole experience has been soooo much easier thanks to the fact that her and I can share our experiences throughout this wonderful journey. ❀

(source)

{I feel that this is SOO true and often think how amazing it is that God allows such friendship paths to cross. ❀ }

Last night we had a game night with them and ended up laughing and playing various board and card games until 3:00 in the morning!! πŸ˜€ Talk about CRAZYYY! Haha! We know we won’t be doing this much in the future so we’re taking advantage of a little silliness while we can! πŸ˜‰ Gotta live it up!

(source)

What’s your favorite board game?

Mine is definitely a tie between Taboo & Apples to Apples.

After staying up WAY past our bedtime, we totally felt like zombies today and wanted to do a whole lot of this:

SLEEP!! Β πŸ˜€

Along with all of the RELAXING hubby and I have been doing, we’ve also been getting in some sweet workouts thanks to gift to ourselves: a TREADMILL!!!

The treadmill + my kindle = the PERFECT relaxation combo ❀

Along with getting my workout on, I’ve been reading a lot and I finished reading Little Earthquakes.

Loved it! Now I’m debating between Water for Elephants and Something Borrowed.

Got any great reading suggestions??

To accompany our great workouts, we been fueling up on some good eats and drinks. We’ve gotten to experiment more with our Vitamix and I made a fabulous GREEN SMOOTHIE! It was my first and I was pleasantly surprised by how DELICIOUS it was!!

{I LOVEEED the color!! and all the frothy bubbles!}

{This lovely Green smoothie had: Almond milk, a banana, a handful of Spinach, a spoonful of almond butter and 2 tbsp of chia seeds.} Surprisingly even hubby LOVED it! πŸ˜€ *insert happy dance here* πŸ™‚ We will definitely be making more of these lovelies in the future. πŸ˜‰

I love smoothies, but finding the perfect combo can be kinda tricky, so I’m always looking for Β new smoothie recipes and blending tips.

Though I haven’t created a list of New Year’s resolutions yet, I do have some ideas in mind and I will most likely be creating an inspiration board (thanks to the Fitnessista) as a reminder and motivator throughout the new year.

What are some of your resolutions??

What plans do you have for New Year’s Eve?? We will likey be hanging out with those fab friends of ours that I mentioned earlier πŸ™‚ Great Food + Fab Friends= LOTS of FUN!!

Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas; ours was very sweet and we are totally looking forward to the arrival of our most favorite giftΒ sometime around February (God willing)!! πŸ˜€

-<3-

Alicia

4 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Family, Friends

4 responses to “Lovely Holidays

  1. I love playing board games! I love Apples to Apples, but my husband doesn’t like playing that one. 😦 I hope you have a happy New Year!!!

    • My hubby and I get very competitive during any type of game, which makes it super fun sometimes and then super challenging at others! πŸ™‚ Hope you had a great New year as well!

  2. I do love Apples to Apples as well!! We bought Take 5 recently which was fun too – Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

